We all start somewhere ...

Founded on May 23, 1990, Messiah Lutheran Church began as a mission church meeting in a rented union hall off Hwy 20.  In 1993 Messiah laid the cornerstone on its church on Highway 72.   While the “union hall” days are long past,  Messiah’s mission to bring others to a relationship with Christ continues. Read more about the history of Messiah Lutheran Church and how we’ve grown through our 25+ years. 

Our Emblem

The cross, representing Christ’s resurrection and victory over death and sin is the center intersection of three circles.  The fire symbolizes the Holy Spirit of the pentecostThe crown is a symbol of Christ, our Lord and savior. The shell represents Baptism.

Get to know Messiah in 90 seconds!

Constitution of The Congregation

The Constitution of Messiah Lutheran Church lays out out the organization of the church. The congregation is a member of the Southeastern Synod of Evangelical Lutheran Church in America.

MLC Consitution & Bylaws


Church Council

Messiah is faithfully led by members elected to serve on the Church Council of Representatives.  These members help manage church ministries, finances, and facilities.  Messiah’s Church Council meets on the 2nd Thursday of each month at 7 p.m.

Annual Reports 
(Members Only)

Church Council Members (click to expand)

Council Handbook & Staff Job Descriptions  Updated Aug 1, 2018

Executive Committee
Exec. Council Position Descriptions

President: Pastor Scott Peterson – scott@mlutheran.com

Vice President:  Mark Thompson – vicepres@mlutheran.com

Treasurer: Greg Kilby – treasurer@mlutheran.com

Secretary: Open

Council Representatives (click on position to view position description)

Worship and Music: Taylor Burton – worship_music_rep@mlutheran.com

Outreach: John Shriver – outreach_rep@mlutheran.com

Stewardship: Heather Neely – stewardship_rep@mlutheran.com

Education and Youth:  Janell Zesinger – education_rep@mlutheran.com

Fellowship: Sonja Pedersen – fellowship_rep@mlutheran.com

Property: Pete Woods

Finance: Dan Byers –

Youth Representative: Zach Armstrong – youth_rep@mlutheran.com

Non-Council Positions

Sunday School Superintendent: Devonee Woods

Nominating Committee: Taylor Burton, Cheryl Byers, Laura Peterson, Richard Webb, Andrew Gipner, Mary Ann Stasiak

Audit Committee: Jay Perry, Ann Tippie, Matthew DeMarsh, Adam Neely

Personnel Committee: Gary Heideman, Glen Long, Bobbey Huwaldt

Church Members

Members of Messiah’s community come from all walks of life and backgrounds.  Huntsville and Madison’s explosive growth of the past 25 years has brought many of our members from other parts of the country.

Church Membership Directory
(Password Required)

Contact Us

Pass the Peace!